Forums General Chronic IT band/quad TIGHTNESS and knee pain (chondromalacia patella?) for 6 years! Re: Chronic IT band/quad TIGHTNESS and knee pain (chondromalacia patella?) for 6 years!

Participant

I think my situation is closest to jtrue, granted I didn’t read every post, but I am a Physical Therapist (a GOOD one) that works with professional athletes among other things, and I have anterior lateral/superior knee pain. I have had it since highschool, and it gradually got worse. Finally I started training as an athlete for my sport and decide I am going to fix this. I have never had a patient like me and I have never had a physician or clinician identify why. Knee flexion to 90 degrees in a squat is sometimes 8/10 pain, sometimes in both knees.

The only medical findings: left knee Baker’s cyst, few calcium pyrophosphate crystals, no problem on right. Slight kyphosis. glute/hip weakness on affected side (left) because of pain with tone. Slightly reduced mobility on affected side for sacrum, ribs, thoracic spine, and shoulder, reduced spinal rotation away from affected side, no apparent calf tightness but reduced symptoms with stretch to reduce tone especially if it’s a self stretch by dorsiflexing foot. Hip adductor tightness Right>Left, quad tightness L>R, hip flexor tightness R>L.

Pain is worse after a day of rest. If I wanted to set myself up for some seriously debilitating pain where I couldn’t walk down the stairs I would train hard one day, not stretch quads/hip flexors or hips afterwards, eat sugar/carbs/gluten (anything inflammatory) then rest a whole day, that night I would wake up in so much pain the sheets hurt me.

The best I can figure out so far for this illusive pain and what helps me:

1. Got MRI, finding something small/mechanical is chronically irritated at onset maybe, for me it’s the cyst, sight fluid increase puts pressure on site superior and lateral to patella.