Daily Mobility Exercises by Dr. Kelly Starrett Forums General Chronic IT band/quad TIGHTNESS and knee pain (chondromalacia patella?) for 6 years! Re: Chronic IT band/quad TIGHTNESS and knee pain (chondromalacia patella?) for 6 years!

Participant

I have not read the entire thread, but so far I have the basics about your runners knee/ITBS/leg length discrepancy.

I am a massage therapist with athletic experience as a professional modern dancer. I primarily use deep tissue, neuromuscular, and assisted isolated stretching techniques and specialize in diaphragmatic disorders, pelvic function (sacroiliac joint disfunction, piriformis syndrome), cervical spine, and TMJ.

First, I would like to address the “hip flexor”, which is the iliopsoas (or illiacus plus psoas major). It should not be considered part of the quadriceps. Many therapists are of that perspective, but I whole heartedly disagree.

Your iliopsoas is better seen as part of the diaphragm. Where one ends the other nearly seamlessly begins.

Diaphragmatic disorders can most commonly result in sacroiliac joint disfunction, thoracic outlet syndrome, piriformis syndrome, ITBD, pain throughout the hips, low back, spine, and ribcage. The reasoning behind why the diaphragm should be considered part of a whole body system of its own, instead of a piece of the muscular system, takes an entire paper to explain, but that concept is very important. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3731110/ 

I saw many times repeated by folks here, “It’s like you’re missing the problem”, “the work I’m doing in my glutes, quads, etc… …only last for a little while before everything tightens back up”, “my foot tracks to the outside”, “my hips are rotating laterally and anteriorly”, “try to do the exercises in a way that does not activate your hip flexor”, “I do tend to slouch when sitting”.

An illustration: